Sunny-12° / 9° CDetails & further outlook
In documented records dating back to 1307, the Abbot of Stams Monastery confirmed that a certain Otto der Karlinger had endowed his ‘Schwaighof’ (a farm estate – today the blacksmith’s shop) in Mösern to the monastery. In the middle ages, ‘Schwaighof’ farm estates were the preferred way of establishing permanent settlements in high-lying areas. Mösern was home to only one ‘Schwaighof’ farm that had to pay annual levies to the landlord. These levies amounted to exactly 300 wheels of cheese, each weighing between one and two pounds. The route that connected Telfs and Leutasch via Buchen and the route from Mösern to Seefeld was a centuries-old cart track, used for transporting goods.
The village of Mösern is fondly referred to as the Swallow’s Nest of Tyrol. The artist Albrecht Dürer, who travelled through Mösern during a trip to Italy in 1498, was so enamoured by the view of the Inn Valley that he immortalised it in a self-portrait as a view seen through a window. The picture hangs in the Museo del Prado in Madrid.
The hamlet of Buchen offers breathtaking views of the Hohe Munde mountains, the Wetterstein and Mieminger Kette ranges and the Stubai Alps. The farming museum beside the Ropfnerstub’m inn in Buchen gives visitors an insight into rural life as it used to be in days gone by.
Unique too is Möserer See lake, situated above the village. It lies within a flat rock basin deeply filled with till (a ‘souvenir’ from the Ice Age). The lake was mentioned as far back as 1500 in Emperor Maximilian’s famous fishing compendium. The near-by Wildmoossee and Lottensee lakes appear only irregularly – but simultaneously – then disappear again after a few months.