Partly cloudy-1° / 11° C
In 1628, Archduke Leopold, husband of Claudia de Medici, had a chapel built on the road to Mösern after a personal experience at the "miraculous cross", which was consecrated in 1666.
In order to put its beauty in perspective, the Kulturring Seefeld has created this exhibition. In addition to numerous cultural-historical details of the chapel on impressive photos, the history of the coloured window glasses has been particularly highlighted: During the restoration of the Seekirchl in 1956/57, lead glazing with transparent honeycomb glass was installed, probably to improve the light flooding of the interior. However, this decision resulted in the loss of the coloured shadows and the mysterious atmosphere. The old coloured glass windows were broken out and carelessly thrown to the ground. Some of the glass was saved by a private person and, with the help of various companies, reassembled true to the original and re-leaded.